Wanting to open a Roth IRA at Vanguard

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wanting to open a Roth IRA at Vanguard

Warning, I am new to all this DIY financial thing, which I am excited about doing.

I have a roth IRA through AMERICAN FUND that was started by a financial advisor. However, I want to move on from the FA and do it on my own.

After reading, I want to transfer my Roth IRA to Vanguard. Any tips?

My new job has a SIMPLE IRA for me to contribute to. I just started my job this month as an attending finally.

I would love to get anyone's tips or advice before I do this.

TIA

Call vanguard. They will move it for you. Try not to talk to American.

The simple will deny you a backdoor Roth

Comment

Thanks.

Because I was a resident until June and just started my job this month, I believe I will qualify for a roth IRA this year. I am single.

I am sad though that I can't get a back door roth IRA because of my job's SIMPLE IRA.

Comment

Also, I moonlighted during residency this year and thus, will get a 1099. With that money, which retirement fund should I open other than Roth IRA? Should I also open another account SEP IRA?

Comment

No a solo 401k might be better.

Comment

Thanks Peds.

I just opened a ROTH IRA with Vanguard, and put 100% of it into VTSMX.

I hope I am doing this right.

Comment

Thanks Peds.

I just opened a ROTH IRA with Vanguard, and put 100% of it into VTSMX.

I hope I am doing this right.

Great - Is the money in it new money? or are these the dollars rolled over from American? If not rolled over, call Vanguard and they'll walk you through rolling it over into this account.

Comment

Also, I moonlighted during residency this year and thus, will get a 1099. With that money, which retirement fund should I open other than Roth IRA? Should I also open another account SEP IRA?

I would recommend establishing a Solo 401(k). However, keep in mind the $18,000 salary deferral limit is for all plans, not per plan.

Comment