Prioritizing Retirement Accounts for PGY-1

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Prioritizing Retirement Accounts for PGY-1

Hey everyone, first time poster, total newbie, just finished reading WCI for the first time and had a question:

WCI (book) suggests prioritizing retirement accounts for residents in this order:
    1) Roth 401k/403b up to the match provided by employer
    2) Traditional 401k/403b (if no roth option) up to the match provided by the employer
    3) Roth IRA
    4) Spousal Roth IRA
    5) Roth 401k/403b up to limit
    6) Traditional 401k/403b (if no roth option) up to limit
    7) 457

Is it my understanding that the #1 and #2 choices are up there purely because of the match?

Given my situation, I'm not too sure which accounts to prioritize.

I'm a PGY-1, planning to be in training for 6 years.
    I'm enrolled in PSLF.
    My employer does not offer any match.
    My employer DOES offer a roth option for 401k.

Thanks in advance!

Originally posted by 4flnibr View Post
    Hey everyone, first time poster, total newbie, just finished reading WCI for the first time and had a question:

WCI (book) suggests prioritizing retirement accounts for residents in this order:
    1) Roth 401k/403b up to the match provided by employer
    2) Traditional 401k/403b (if no roth option) up to the match provided by the employer
    3) Roth IRA
    4) Spousal Roth IRA
    5) Roth 401k/403b up to limit
    6) Traditional 401k/403b (if no roth option) up to limit
    7) 457

Is it my understanding that the #1 and #2 choices are up there purely because of the match?

Given my situation, I'm not too sure which accounts to prioritize.

I'm a PGY-1, planning to be in training for 6 years.
    I'm enrolled in PSLF.
    My employer does not offer any match.
    My employer DOES offer a roth option for 401k.

Thanks in advance!
    With no match, either Roth 401k/403b or Roth IRA.