Rollover 401

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rollover 401

So I graduated from residency about 3 years ago now. While in residency I believe I had a 403 (b) which I rolled over to a 401 k after residency completed. Since residency I have been putting 6 k per year into this also in addition to my current 403 b and 457. The more I have looked and began to get more familiar with finances I'm not sure I'm doing this right? Should I have converted the 403b to a roth at the end of residency? What should I do going forward?

What 401k did you roll this into exactly? Do you have more than one job?

Comment

what's done is done. What is your current marginal tax rate

Comment

Whoops I said rolled over into 401k but meant rolled it over into an IRA.

Comment

So you rolled your residency 403b into a TIRA (Traditional IRA) and you've been making $6k contributions to a TIRA since you graduated residency 3 yrs ago (either the one you rolled your 403b into or another). Is that correct?

If so, depending upon your earnings, you probably should have been filing a Form 8606 with your Form 1040 for at least the last 2 years. If you have been converting your annual TIRA contributions to a Roth IRA (the Backdoor Roth maneuver), you should have been filing a Form 8606 and paying pro-rata taxes.

Have you been filing the Form 8606? If so, have you been paying pro-rata taxes? This is fixable if you haven't, so please don't stress. We just need more information to give correct advice.

Welcome to the forum!
          Our passion is protecting clients and others from predatory and ignorant advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment