No announcement yet.

VUL better if Backdoor Roth Disappears?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VUL better if Backdoor Roth Disappears?

I’m new to the WCI scene; still figuring out the mistakes I’ve already made and the ones I’m trying to learn to avoid.

I have a VUL (I know, I know). I never really understood how it worked which probably meant I never should have agreed to invest in it. Regardless I’ve been funding the VUL for 6 years. I’ve invested $405k and it has a present surrender value of $375k. I regret it now but it will neither make nor break my retirement.

Is there anyway my VUL mistake looks any better if the Backdoor Roth goes away?

absolutely not.

why would it?

the concern about the bdrIRA going away is so overblown. i hope it doesn't and i think the policy isn't good. that said it's $12k/year for a couple.

the absolutely worst case scenario here is that the bdrIRA is scrapped and instead of putting $12k of after tax money into it you put $12k of after tax money into a taxable account.

backdoor Roth is a fraction of our savings each year, and i'm not the only one on this forum for whom that is true. it's icing on the cake, it's not the cake.

Comment

Originally posted by MPMD View Post

the absolutely worst case scenario here is that the bdrIRA is scrapped and instead of putting $12k of after tax money into it you put $12k of after tax money into a taxable account.
      Huh? I may not be understanding what you’re saying but I think taxable accounts are the next best thing, if not the best in some situations.
      Our passion is protecting clients and others from predatory and ignorant advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment

Originally posted by jfoxcpacfp View Post

Huh? I may not be understanding what you’re saying but I think taxable accounts are the next best thing, if not the best in some situations.
        that is what i'm saying.