Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• savings

I am a 1st year resident and I just read white coat investor. I have

1. He mentions saving between 20-30% of your income, does this all go towards my retirement funds?

2. I am trying to figure out how much will go towards my 403(b). My program is going throught TIAA-CREF and they are giving me two options

(a) Amount of paycheck %

(b) I elect 15-year lifetime catch-up option not to exceed the IRC section 402(g)8 limit and I have attached the calculation provided by my 403(b) company indicating I elect the special 15 year lifetime catch-up option this calendar year. I understand it is my responsinility to obtain this calculation annaully from my 403(b) company.

* which is my best option?

1. I think he is generally referring to "wealth building."  Retirement funds, paying down loans, etc can all be considered wealth building.  20-30% of your income should be going towards increasing your Net Worth.

2. If you are a 1st year resident, you don't have 15 years of service to your hospital so you don't qualify for option b.  Choose a and determine the amount you want to put in retirement.  However, I would strongly recommend you make sure you can maximize your Roth IRA ($5500) and a spouses Roth IRA ($5500) first.  If after Roth contributions, you can put more money away, by all means, throw it at the 403b.

Comment

I am a 1st year resident and I just read white coat investor. I have

1. He mentions saving between 20-30% of your income, does this all go towards my retirement funds?

2. I am trying to figure out how much will go towards my 403(b). My program is going throught TIAA-CREF and they are giving me two options

(a) Amount of paycheck %