Maxing out 2021 and 2022 HSA contributions as an intern

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Maxing out 2021 and 2022 HSA contributions as an intern

Just had my first day of intern year orientation and have a quick question regarding HSA accounts.

As a preliminary-medicine resident, I will only be at this institution for one year before transferring to another institution for my advanced position. Therefore, the available 403b and 401a options are worthless to me given the three year vesting schedule. In my mind, the only two retirement accounts worthwhile to me this year are my Roth IRA and potentially an HSA.

Originally, I was planning to just fund both my fiance's and my Roth IRA and call it a day, but now I'm considering instead maxing out my employer's HSA for 2021 (3,600) and 2022 (3,600) and contributing whatever remainder I have to my Roth IRA account.

The tricky part is that my institution will be paying the premiums of whichever health insurance plan I choose. There's essentially a Cadillac plan, a mid-tier plan, and then the HDHP. Regardless of which plan I choose, I pay $0 in premiums. I'm considering enrolling in the HDHP (despite being told to enroll in the Cadillac plan) to simply take advantage of the HSA. I have no medical conditions and haven't been to the doctor other than the PCP for a physical in a few years so I highly doubt I'd have a lot of out-of-pocket costs. I'm concerned though that I may be overlooking something. Is it wise to enroll in the HSA at my institution if I will be leaving in 12 months. Does the seed contribution stay with me if I leave in 12 months. Can I max out both 2021 and 2022 HSA within a 12 month period. Should I just go back to my original plan of maxing out the Roth IRAs and enrolling in the Cadillac plan? I asked the HR department these questions and I'm awaiting their response. Just trust y'all a lot and would appreciate your insight.

Thanks