Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Backdoor Roth after recharacterizing from the prior year

Hi everyone,

I graduated from fellowship this year. I previously thought I would be eligible to fully fund a Roth IRA because I took a few months of vacation between fellowship and starting my attending job. I had even carefully laid out what I thought my AGI would be for 2020, so I gave the full $6000 allowed to my Roth IRA with Vanguard. When I finally received my W-2s, I discovered I made just above the income limit due to a sign-on bonus and a higher than predicted salary. I'm in the process of recharacterizing the Roth to a Traditional IRA. My plan is to then do a backdoor Roth, which I've gathered is allowable. I guess this is a good problem to have.

Possibly complicating matters: I rolled over my 403b from residency to a traditional IRA, then transferred that into my roth IRA. I'm being taxed on a portion of that and entered in the 1099-R using my tax software which I expected.

A few questions:

- Will I get any additional tax forms after this is all complete? Or will all my tax forms from this process be generated in early 2022 (and therefore pay all the taxes for this procedure next tax cycle rather than now).
    - Is these even allowed since I rolled over my 403b to my Roth IRA?
    - Anyone know how document all this in tax software? I've been using freetaxusa.com for years without problems, but maybe I'm too grown up for a free tax program.

Thanks!
    Last edited by imdmd; 02-08-2021, 04:09 PM. Reason: to make my question more clear when I'm not overwhelmed by all the information

1. Your related tax forms will (should) arrive by 1/31/22. I’m assuming you are recharacterizing in 2021 rather did so in 2020, even though you stated you graduated training “this year”.
    2. No relationship between the two.