Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Louisiana Retirement Investment - TRSL, 403(b) and 457(b)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Louisiana Retirement Investment - TRSL, 403(b) and 457(b)

I am a new physician who finished residency and moved to Louisiana. I am keen in contributing into retirement accounts. However, I have been given too many options which are confusing me. I am new to the investing world as well, however catching up to speed. I am an IMG with debt that will be covered in 2-3 months. I am planning to do fellowship in 3 years. Currently I have been given the option of TRSL vs ORP (Optional Retirement Plan) and supplemental plans - 403b and 527b.

I was told the TRSL is employer matched and is similar to a 401K. I can switch to a ORP plan within 5 years with only my employee contributions. Employer contribution is employer's normal cost contribution (which has been 5%-7% of salary). It is a defined benefit plan.

ORP carriers are VALIC (now known as AIG), TIAA-CREF (Teachers insurance and annuity association-college retirement equity fund, and VOYA life insurance and annuity company. Employer contribution is 6.2%. This is defined contribution plan.

403(b) is Tax-deferred, non-governmental and not matched by employer. 403(b) plans are AIG/VALIC, TIAA, and Fidelity. AIG and fidelity has Administrative Fee of 0.13% and investment fee of 0.16%

457(b) - LA Public employees deferred compensation plan - the annual fee is $22.50.

Given all this data , how do I go about contributing in the plan. My initial plan was to put money in 401K and Roth IRA before finding out this salad of options. Please help! Thanks

Originally posted by Azuren View Post