Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Advantage of stocks vs bonds in a taxable account?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advantage of stocks vs bonds in a taxable account?

I'm 2nd year attending trying to straighten out my retirement accounts. I want to keep it simple and ideally would like to have a 70:30 stock to bond ratio and a 70:30 domestic to international stock ratio.

One issue I have is that I'm an employed physician and the only passive index fund available in through my employer is the Vanguard 500 index fund so that's the only fund I've been contributing to for my 401k and 457b.

I do have a backdoor roth (currently Vanguard 500 index fund) and taxable vanguard account (currently Vanguard 2045 target retirement fund) set up.

I would like to switch the Roth and my taxable account to the Vanguard Total International Fund and Vanguard Total bond Index to achieve my desired asset allocation.

Is there a tax advantage or rebalancing advantage to placing the international stock or total bond fund in the backdoor roth vs the taxable account?

Thanks!

Is there

There is an advantage to putting the international in a taxable account.  See the following:

https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Foreign_tax_credit

It's hard to say exactly where you should put your bonds.  There are advantages to having them in the 401k and also advantages to keeping high (expected) growth funds in the 401k.  WCI has posted on this - look up "bonds in taxable" in his search.

Comment

I wouldn't use total bond market as a doc in taxable. If you decide bonds in taxable are right for you, then use a muni fund. But figuring out whether stocks or bonds in taxable is right is complicated, doesn't make a huge difference, and might change with future tax or personal changes.
      Helping those who wear the white coat get a fair shake on Wall Street since 2011

Comment

Really big if high state tax.  --