SEP-IRA for 2016

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SEP-IRA for 2016

First of all, thank you for the great teaching and information.  Really invaluable for newbies like myself.

I'm fortunate to have a reasonable employee/partner income from my w2 job, and a good side income from my 1099 consulting work.  I currently contribute the max allowable to my employer sponsored 401k plan ($18k per year) from my annual salary, and my group makes the maximum allowed profit sharing contribution of $15.9k/year.   My employer/physician group (where I am a partner and an employee), also has a cash balance/defined benefit plan.  I have been contributing $20k/year for the past 2 years to this defined benefit  plan from the profit-sharing/bonus component of my W2 income (I believe that for my age, the current annual limit per year is about $66k). 

First, from what I’ve read, the above employer/group-sponsored defined benefit plan does not impact my ability to contribute from my 1099 income to a solo 401k, or to a SEP-IRA? From the information that I've read, I would not be able to contribute any additional money from my 1099 work to the salary deferral portion of my solo 401k  (or SEP-IRA) as I'm already at the 18k maximum, but can I still contribute to the profit sharing component of it to max that out to $53k (given my current primary job's 401k and defined benefit plan contributions)?

Also, I goofed and it sounds like its too late to establish and contribute to a personal 401k for the 2016 tax year.  But what about establishing a SEP-IRA now (March 2017) for the 2016 tax year and contributing the max to it for 2016?   I believe I still have until April 15th to do this?

Yes, you can open and fund a SEP IRA for the 2016 tax year until your tax filing deadline (4/18/17) including extensions (10/16/17). Just so you know, there are no employee deferrals to a SEP IRA even if you had space remaining in the deferral limit.