Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• From W2 to IC Switch Retirement Options

Hey gang,

Please allow me to be real with y'all. I've loved this forum for many years and have learned a ton thanks to y'all's amazing expertise in so many areas of my life. Now it's my first time asking questions and not because I'm too lazy to look up the answers, right now I just don't have the physical and mental energy to fully understand all the answers already shared relevant to my questions, so please, just bear with me LOL
    Ok, here we go... I'm now switching from my W2 job to an independent contractor one. Lots of fun, I know! It's freaking nuts all that goes into this transition, it's overwhelming and intimidating because I don't want to screw anything up and don't want to be taken for a ride in the process. Is it true that it's too late for me to set up a Solo 401k to contribute to this year after I'm done at my W2 job? What's the best way to save as much as possible for retirement the rest of the year?

You can set up a solo 401k for 2020 no problem. You have until 4/15/21.

how much 1099 income are you expecting?

did you already contribute to 401k at W2 job and if so how much in 2020?

what about health insurance?

Comment

Oh good, I'm glad to hear that! Thank you!
      It'll be at least 400k/yr.
      Yes, I'm maxing out my current 403b & 457b at my W2 job.
      I'm currently shopping for health insurance. Struggling to decide if I should go with a high deductible family plan and keep maxing out my HSA despite the really crappy coverage and ridiculous OOP or choose the premium plan for $500.00/month more but the coverage is much better for our family situation and minimal OOP expenses.
      Thank you jacoavlu for replying and any other feedback or tips is greatly appreciated.

Comment