Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Traditional vs Roth IRA, first time contributing

Hello,

I am a new attending, 6 months into my first job. Married, filling jointly.

I contributed the max allowed to my new 403b and a non gov 457 accounts in the last 4 months of the year ($18K each, yes, my first 4 paychecks made my cry). My wife is currently not working and is not covered by a retirement account (though she still has $ in a retirement account from a recent employer).

Modified Adjusted Gross Income 2016: $110K

Earned income 2016: $109K

I understand contributing to an IRA will help diversify my retirement income options. I'm currently working on my 2016 taxes. The problem is I have no idea what would be the best for us since I have no prior experience with IRAs. Deductible traditional? Non deductible? Roth? TaxAct online says I can contribute $2170 and my wife $5,500 to a deductible IRA for the year 2016. It looks like we could also both contribute $5,500 to a Roth IRA instead.

We expect our MAGI to be around $250K in the next few years.

I would appreciate any help/information on how to best make this decision.

Thank you!

This is your last year in a bracket that low. While a deductible TIRA would save a few tax dollars, there will never be a better time to maximize your Roth space. I recommend you and your wife both contribute $5,500 to Roth IRAs. Continue with back-door Roths for 2017 and beyond if you can afford to fund them. At "only" $250k AGI, I still believe they are a good choice, especially if either of your work plans are sub-optimal.
    Working to protect good doctors from bad advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment

$5,500 each into two Roth IRAs. You can make the direct contribution for tax year 2016 until April tax day comes.