Help with 2016 Roth contribution as a resident

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with 2016 Roth contribution as a resident

I have a couple of beginner's question about Roth IRA contributions. I am a resident right now.

I opened up a Vanguard Roth IRA for my wife in 2016 by rolling over her old 403b from her old job and then I made the full $5500 contribution into that account on 12/28/16.

I want to open up a Roth in my name now as well.

Question 1: If I open a Roth before 4/17/17 (the 2016 deadline) in my name and make a full $5500 contribution to it, will that then count as my 2016 contribution? Can I then turn around and make a second $5500 contribution a few days later and it would count as a 2017 contribution?

Question 2: Can I make any contributions to my wife's Roth IRA account before 4/17/17? Or am I already maxed out for this contribution year?

Question 3: How does it work if I file my 2016 tax return to the IRS before April 17th (which I always do) and then make a 2016 contribution to a Roth IRA after filing? Would that mess anything up with my tax return?

1: yes. It will ask you which tax year for which you want to contribute.

2: you only get to contribute $5,500 per tax year. If she did that for 2016, then that's all. However, she can make her 2017 contribution now.

3: shouldn't be a problem, since you report current and prior year's contributions when you file. I've done this before.

This is all assuming you file taxes as married filing jointly with a combined AGI < $184,000. If you're MFS or your income is higher, you're not eligible for direct Roth contributions and have to "backdoor" by doing a non-deductible traditional contribution and converting it to Roth.

Comment

And btw, assuming it's not a Roth 403b, you do know you owe taxes on that conversion, right?

Comment

Thank you for your help. Sounds good.