Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can I still do a Back door IRA?

Hi,

I have been a long time reader but first time posting.  I graduated residency and I started working at the VA.  They offer TSP.  I am doing a traditional TSP to since I am in a higher tax bracket now. I was reading into Backdoor Roth IRA and checking if I could do it for 2017.  Since I am have traditional TSP, does that mean I would not be able to do a backdoor roth ira?  What would be the better option that I should do?  Thanks in advance for the answers!

-FIREoneDay

The TSP is not relevant to your ability to do a tax-free back-door Roth. If you have a pre-tax personal IRA, that is a problem and would preclude the tax-free back-door maneuver. Note that I stipulate "tax-free" because you can still do the back-door Roth if you have a pre-tax IRA, but you would fall under the pro-rate rule. You asked about 2017 but you can actually do one for 2016, too.
    Working to protect good doctors from bad advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment

So even if I did the Back door IRA, it would be at pro rate rule because I have a traditional TSP?  That would mean that I can't do it without paying high in taxes?

Comment

Is the last day to convert from IRA to Roth IRA Dec 31?

I haven't contributed to personal IRA yet for this year, but did contribute the maximum to my employer retirement plans (non-Roth versions). Next year I expect income to be less than this year but still higher than allowable for Roth (~280 in 2016 and ~240 in 2017). Would it make sense to hold off on converting this year and instead convert next year?

Comment

So even if I did the Back door IRA, it would be at pro rate rule because I have a traditional TSP?  That would mean that I can’t do it without paying high in taxes?

No, the TSP is irrelevant because it is an employer retirement account, as opposed to a personal account, like a pre-tax Individual Retirement Account (IRA).