Question about Series EE and I bonds

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about Series EE and I bonds

So I have learned a lot from this and other site and I am a younger physician just a little over 1 year out from training.  I have a pretty good grasp on my finances but one thing I struggle with is bonds.  I have read and researched municipal bonds, series EE, and series I bonds until my head was spinning.  I have read numerous topics on these in the bogleheads forum but I wanted to know what you guys think.  I am not interest in all the opinions you get with bogleheads who are in a different situation that the majority of physicians and this seemed like a good place to ask.

I save about $200,000 a year with my 410k, 401k match, backdoor roths, taxable, 457, and 529 plans.  I am an employee so about half of that goes in the taxable category.  My current investment plan is for 10-15% bonds since I am young and fairly aggressive with only about 300,000 in retirement savings.  Anyway I do have some minor issues and things I am considering about my overall portfolio but as the message states my biggest concern now is just bonds so if we can stick with just the bonds for now that would be great.  Obviously I am in a higher tax bracket and at first I was doing a muni bond fund in my schwab account listed below:

SPDR Barclays Muni bond  ticker TFI  net expense ratio .23%