HSA withdrawal

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HSA withdrawal

I have been paying all medical expenses out of pocket for the last 2 years, saving receipts etc.  Do you guys think its a good idea to withdraw the money from the HSA and transfer it into my Roth IRA?  I may be a bit confused but cant see how its possible to hold on to receipts for the next 30 years.  After 65 withdrawals aren't penalized but you have to pay tax?  Similar to a tIRA?

Thx

-Not sure what you mean by withdrawing the money and transferring to Roth.

-Most folks here recommend you let the HSA money grow and then either use it for medical expenses that you will incur in future or reimburse yourself for med expenses incurred in the past (ie, now).

-Keep all the physical medical receipts in a folder- or scan them into a folder

-Irrespective of age, withdrawals from HSA are not penalized or taxed if used for qualifying medical expenses

Comment

Ok let me try to clarify.  I understand how the HSA works, im just wondering if its smarter to just leave the money in there to grow, vs withdraw whatever I have paid in medical expenses, and take the cash and place it into an IRA.  Thereby eliminating the need to save my receipts.

Comment

I have been paying all medical expenses out of pocket for the last 2 years, saving receipts etc.  Do you guys think its a good idea to withdraw the money from the HSA and transfer it into my Roth IRA?  I may be a bit confused but cant see how its possible to hold on to receipts for the next 30 years.  After 65 withdrawals aren’t penalized but you have to pay tax?  Similar to a tIRA?

Thx

Docbeans is correct - after 65, the only tax you will pay is on withdrawals to pay for non-medical expenses. It should be fairly easy to avoid taxes on HSA withdrawals, assuming you even need the $$.