Cost of DBB

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cost of DBB

I'm an independent contractor as and LLC S corp selection (with no other employees) and am looking into setting up a defined benefit plan.  The only quote I've received is a cost of $750 to set it up and $4000-4500 yearly.  That yearly fee seems like a lot to me.  Anyone with experiences or recommendations of a provider of such a service?  Thanks.

WoW!

I have no experience, but with fees like that, I doubt it would be worth doing. In your shoes (and I have been) I would just set up a solo 401(k) and put some Vanguard index funds in it.

Comment

I’m an independent contractor as and LLC S corp selection (with no other employees) and am looking into setting up a defined benefit plan.  The only quote I’ve received is a cost of $750 to set it up and $4000-4500 yearly.  That yearly fee seems like a lot to me.  Anyone with experiences or recommendations of a provider of such a service?  Thanks.

It depends on what services you are looking for.  Basic admin services might cost around $2k a year for a combo plan.  There is also investment management involved, and that costs extra.  These are not DIY plans, so you really need to understand what you should and shouldn't do with this type of plan, so getting the best advice cost-effectively is always a good idea.  For one thing, many docs start these plans because they want to contribute for a year or two, but you have to commit to at least 4-5 years of ongoing contributions, so before starting this type of plan you have to make sure that it is a good fit for you.
      Kon Litovsky, Principal, Litovsky Asset Management | [email protected] | 401k and Cash Balance plans for solo and group practices, fixed/flat fee, no AUM fees

Comment