Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Advantage of contributing from W2 income vs 1099 income?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advantage of contributing from W2 income vs 1099 income?

Two-part question, would love some insight!

I work part time as a W2 and part-time as a 1099.

If it is much easier to make tax and business deductions from 1099 income, does it make any difference if I contribute zero towards 401k from 1099 income and make the contributions from the W2 income? Or is it all the same in the end?

Part 2 confounder:

The W2 job is offering me a small window of time to choose to participate in an elective deferral plan (up to 53k). The election will be permanent forever (i.e. 20% will be deducted from my check forever). If I don't elect to do this, my max contribution is the 18k.

The 1099 job has a 401k that allows me to contribute up to 53k total (they somehow classify anything above 18k as employer contribution, but still comes from me...??) The total allowed between this plan and the W2 plan is 53k total each year.

Question is: does anyone see any compelling reason to contribute 20% forever without ability to change amount, or should I just use job 2's ability to change up and down the 401k contribution as needed? Of course jobs can change but I can't figure it out.

I am having some trouble with this scenario.

• It is unusual for you to make a "lifetime" election for a deferred comp plan, especially as a p.t. employee. Are you sure about this?

• Are the W2 and the 1099 with the same company? To allow a max of $53k between the 2 indicates it is so. (By the way, it many be troubling if the same company hires you in 2 different capacities, if this is so, but that is another story.)

• It is also unusual for 1099 contractors to be allowed to participate in a deferred comp plan.