Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

SEP IRA + Solo 401k + Backdoor Roth (in the same tax year)?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SEP IRA + Solo 401k + Backdoor Roth (in the same tax year)?

Hello all, I am new to white coat investor (I wish I had known about it sooner).

All of my income comes from 1099 work. I currently have a SEP IRA but won't make enough to max it out. Is it true that I can also open a solo 401k to get an extra $18k (as the employee contribution) of tax deferred savings (up to the $53k max)?

Assuming that's possible, can I then roll the SEP-IRA into the solo 401k in December to allow me to do the backdoor roth ($5.5k) before tax time?

If contributing to a solo 401k isn't possible in the same year, my current plan for 2016 is just to put the most allowable in my SEP, roll it into a solo 401k in December and then do the backdoor roth after that.

Basically, I would like to max out my tax deferred savings for 2016. I was initially told to go with the SEP since I wasn't sure how long I'd be doing contract work. Now that I am doing it, I can see myself continuing to do it and will definitely stick with a solo 401k from 2017 onwards.

Any input would be appreciated, thanks!

Welcome to the site!

1. You can contribute a total of $53k to the SEP and/or SOLO-k + another $6k if you are age 50+.

2. You cannot have 2 separate plans with the same employer in the same year. May be possible to reclassify the SEP contributions to 401k contributions for 2016, however, BUT I think I may have an even better solution -

3. If you did not contribute to a SEP for 2015, you have until 10/15/16 to do so. Ask your custodian to change the contributions you have made so far for this year to 2015 contributions then set up and contribute to the SOLO-k for 2016. R/o any SEP balance into the SOLO-k.