strictly 1099 have my own LLC need to set up solo K and reduce taxes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• strictly 1099 have my own LLC need to set up solo K and reduce taxes

I'm an independent ED contractor.  I pay 40% taxes. I have my own LLC I set up last April. I get no benefits or retirement or health insurance I have to get it on my own. I'm looking for any suggestions to help. Im new to the game second yr working as a 1099 employee I'm totally lost don't know where to start. I don't have a retirement plan need to set up a soloK which is the best company? I did see the comparison that was on the website was thinking of going with  Vanguard.

If you do not have a CPA and do not have a fee-only CFP, either of which would be able to give you specific advice:

1. Set up an HSA

2. Set up a SOLO-401k wherever you are most comfortable with the services. (Contrary to conventional wisdom, I am not a Vanguard fanatic.)

3. Optional: set up a combo plan, depending upon your income, resources, and financial goals.

4. Contribute to a backdoor Roth IRA

5. Set up a taxable account for any other savings.

Of course, all of this assumes you have appropriate life, disability, and umbrella insurance, no or low student loan debt, you're not paying PMI on a mortgage, etc. Basically, that you have some kind of financial plan in place. My financial guides for doctors might be helpful.
    Working to protect good doctors from bad advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment

Setting up a solo 401k is very easy.  We did with fidelity so you can roll any other accounts in if needed.  Vanguard doesn't allow that I believe.

https://www.fidelity.com/retirement-ira/small-business/self-employed-401k/overview

Agree tho an HSA may be useful as well.  Not sure how hard those are to set up.

Comment