single member llc for real estate

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• single member llc for real estate

Hi, I am a physician in Florida and looking at buying some single-family homes for rental/investment.

I currently don't have a business partner and would be doing all the financing/investment (and probably the managing) myself.

Obviously I will talk with a lawyer or cpa, but wanted to get input from this group as well.

I know I need an umbrella policy, and I was planning on putting the properties in one (or more) LLC's.  My question is -- as the only member of the LLC, if I get sued for malpractice, does the LLC protect my properties from being taken from me?  Do I need to find a partner for my LLC in order to have better protection?

Thanks for your help!

I have all properties in an llc with the intention that I’m protected from the inside-out. Tenant sues or someone sues the properties within llc.. they can only go after what the llc owns. I don’t think it works the other way around.. from the outside-in as you own the llc? Like to see what the lawyers say? If you’re maintaining the llc.. make sure you keep all personal finances separate from the real estate or llc finances, maintain periodic minutes, and have an operating agreement in place. Otherwise lawsuits can potentially pierce the corporate veil from the inside out to you personally.

Comment

1.  Yes, umbrella

2.  have to set it up right-- real estate lawyer.   single llc is fine

3.  if you manage it, you have to be careful on the separation.   Best and easiest is to get someone else.

4.  meetings; agendas; postimngs - direction to the manager.   business is calling the shots, not you as a person

Comment