LLC Structuring for Medical Office Purchase

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• LLC Structuring for Medical Office Purchase

I work as a physician within a single-specialty group. The practice (of which I am an employee, not a partner) leases all its five medical offices. Some of the members have desired expansion into a new area. As a result, I have identified a medical office that would be ideal to purchase and then lease back to the practice. The managing partner is on board and fully supportive of this strategy.

Two other physicians (one of which being the managing partner) which to invest with me. As a result, I have been looking into LLC creation to give them the opportunity and to decrease the cash outlay on my end.

The issues regarding structuring the LLC I am struggling with are two-fold:

1) Liability and decision making - I intend on assigning myself as the manager, the person who will decide when to sell, what renovations that are needed, etc. This obviously means other investors in the LLC will have to relinquish control as well as liquidity potentially. But what about liability? Should I bear this all on my own shoulders in order to account for the fact that I have all the "power"? Or should liability be a factor of the capital that was invested? If all the liability is on me, should I be compensated extra for that?

2) "Sweat equity" - what is a fair way that I should be reimbursed for the work that I am doing? A lawyer that I have hired to create the LLC suggested a management fee but that didn't seem ideal in my eyes. Would it be unreasonable for me to be given extra "shares" for the work that has been put in? If not, what would be a reasonable way to structure this?

If it helps, the office we are looking at is about $500k and is essentially move-in ready.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!