Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

High credit score borrowers caused housing crisis?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• High credit score borrowers caused housing crisis?

I just read this article and found it interesting that people with supposedly higher credit scores were potentially more responsible for the defaults. I had always taken it as shown in "The Big Short". Just curious what others think.

https://qz.com/1064061/house-flippers-triggered-the-us-housing-market-crash-not-poor-subprime-borrowers-a-new-study-shows/?utm_source=fark&utm_medium=website&utm_content=link&ICID=ref_fark

If you wealthy Doctors   caused the housing crisis.....how did you default and hide your money and sock it to the banks so well?
    If I was a bank and a Doctor defaulted (or any high income/wealth person), I wouldn't be losing too much money. I would come after you with my lawyers and get it back. You have assets. You have income. You owe me what I lent you. You can afford to pay it back. The courts will make you (in general)

The article assumes that high credit score = high net worth/wealth. We all know that is not true. Statements like this "Since owning a home is one of the best ways to build wealth in America..."  tells me the author has a limited idea on how wealth is built. I had a high credit score when I had -$47k net worth because I paid all my bills on time.

I know a number of people who pretended to have money, taking HELOC out after HELOC, fully leveraging a house they lived in for 30 years to maintain a lifestyle/appearance they couldn't afford. Maintaining a high credit score is easy if you borrow and repay monthly. Until you cannot afford to borrow anymore. They lost their house when their income fell and they couldn't refinance anymore.

Some places like Vegas clearly had too much housing stock/capacity built.

My $0.02

Comment