Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Academics + real estate professional status?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Academics + real estate professional status?

I'm a fellowship-trained surgeon, experienced real estate investor, have been doing this since I finished college, many successful rentals and have experience managing >$1M construction projects and developing multifamily condos from the ground up. I was offered a job in academics. My potential Chair said I could set it up however I want. 40/60, 60/40, I pick.

Would it be possible to have real estate professional status as an academic working <0.5 FTE? I was wondering if anyone has done this before, and was wondering how this would work with any potential grant funding etc. Would I definitely have to forgo grant funding if I worked less than 0.5 FTE? For example, I understand that K awards are meant to supplement up to 50% of clinical income, but would the terms of grant funding be in direct conflict with the tax reporting of being a full time real estate professional?

My husband is a high earner. We could likely come out ahead if I did more real estate and less clinical practice based on tax sheltering alone. Currently I'm in a full-time private practice, but weighing whether this would be advantageous professionally and financially. I have no concerns about actually winning grants or being productive in research with this scenario - based on my publication record during a busy residency, I know I can be academically productive and competitive in my field with a <50% time expenditure - have been able to set up the right support and research "pipeline" with medical students, other residents, etc.

from a time standpoint there is no way you could maintain your surgical practice, do a K, and work in real estate unless you literally didn't sleep.