Florida Land Trust vs LLC

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Florida Land Trust vs LLC

Any one doing this or have any thoughts regarding placing investment real estate into a land trust vs LLC?

I'm no expert but here are a couple of things to consider:

• Ownership of an LLC goes through probate, but a trust avoids probate

• LLC ownership is public but a trust is private

• If the above distinctions are of no consequence to you, the LLC is less expensive and should be simpler

• My understanding is that probate in FL is more complicated, time-consuming, and expensive in FL than in many other states. (If anyone has information to the contrary, please share!)

Working to protect good doctors from bad advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment

Thanks Johanna!  I think those are really important points to consider?   I'm currently in the process of setting up a trust for our kids that would include all of our assets when we pass on.   Would a land trust be any more helpful?  To your 2nd point.. the problem with the LLC is that my name and address is publicly listed under the LLC as a manager, etc.  If a pissed off tenant wanted to find me... he could simply look me up under the LLC?

I also heard that the other advantage is asset protection or sort of a multi-lateral protection?   If an LLC is unilateral protection from your tenants alone.. then a land trust can potentially also protect against debtors/lawsuits?   Above and beyond the property/umbrella insurance... if someone wanted to go after my real estate properties including the LLCs I own... these would be completely protected under the land trust?   How much more expensive is it to setup and I hear this a one time cost?  Unlike paying the annual renewal fee like we do with a LLC... any lawyers in the forum?

Comment