Rent or sell current real estate

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rent or sell current real estate

I am a current resident in my last year of training, first time poster here wanted to seek some opinion regarding my real estate options.

I purchased a house 3 years ago with intention of staying in my residency area in Ohio for fellowship and beyond. Plan changed and now I will be moving out-of-state for a 320K/yr attending job. I plan on renting a place in the new state till I get my commencement bonus and save enough for a 20% down on new conventional mortgage. Was wondering if I should sell or rent out my current home handles by property managment that charged $80-90/mo.

Home purchase price: $193,000. Put $30,000 down on physician's loan ARM 7/1 @ 3.950%
    $150K left on principle currently.
    Monthly mortgage: $1250K
    Estimate currently property value: $235K
    Estimated equity: 75K with LTV 66%
    Potential monthly rent if renting out: $1600 - $1800/mo

Crunched some numbers, figured if I sell my home for listed price, taken into account cost fees and potential vacancy period I would say cost to sell would be wound $21-25K. Won't be making much of a profit at all compared to the downpayments and mortgage I already put in. Though I worry that if I already have an existing mortgage it would be difficulty for me to quality for new home loan. I am by no means expert in this area and any input would be appreciated.

Did you get the sales price estimate from realtor? In my area things are selling extremely fast and high making it an excellent time to sell.

Comment