Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Quick Start Guide? Or... where does a beginner begin?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Quick Start Guide? Or... where does a beginner begin?

Hello all,

I'm currently a third year resident, soon-to-be-fourth (thank god!). My loan burden is relatively small and with interest rates frozen until October, I have basically been just saving up a ton of money. I will probably pay off most of my loans as soon as the interest rate is no longer 0%. In the mean time, I have been spending a pretty considerable amount of time thinking of extra ways of making money. The market has taken a down turn and honestly, based on how things are looking, I do not anticipate this to change in the near term. I know literally nothing about real estate. I have never started a business, have never taken out a non-student loan (I am actually appalled at how relatively easy it is to take out a student loan compared to a non-student loan). However, I am extremely interested in real-estate investing; I am particularly intrigued by owning a multi where I can reside in part of the building and the tenant will effectively be paying my mortgage (I understand that I should still set aside ~10 months' worth of expenses in case something happens).

Basically, where do I start? What do I read? Is there a quick-start guide? I am not afraid of making mistakes. I understand the risk-reward concept.

Thank you!!

The wci books are probably a good start

Comment

If it not prudent to own a house during residency, RE investing seems much more risky. Try to house hack on a multi x ?.
      Rent is the max and mort + maintenance is the minimum. Not sure you can calculate a new roof or HVAC.

Comment

Bigger pockets.

Comment

Originally posted by Peds View Post
          Bigger pockets.
          I glossed over the post and didnt realize RE specific. Yeah, BP is a great starting spot.

Comment

Originally posted by geraltofrivia1 View Post