Origin Investing Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Origin Investing Question

I am new to private real estate and interested in investing in a private fund. I have looked into funds with several companies but have the best feeling about Origin so far. I like the evergreen structure of IncomePlus for the buy and hold mentality and the tax implications. My reservation is regarding whether Core Plus is aggressive enough. I am in my early 40s with a 90:10 stock/bond ratio in my portfolio. I realize this may come down to individual comfort with risk but I put the question out there anyways...Should I be looking for a value-add fund?

No real advice here, but I'm in the same boat. Similar age and portfolio ratio, looking to get some exposure in real estate. From what I've been reading, funds seem a better way to go than individual deals. I'm also trying to decide on the best fit.

Comment

I dont have any advice but I would love to hear about your experience if you use them.

Comment

I’ve scheduled a call with them sometime next week. I mostly did it when I read the other thread about there being a waiting list for over a year to join the fund. Might as well get my name on the list.

Comment

I've been researching Origin's IncomePlus fund too and very much like the buy and hold feature. I've been in MLG Fund IV for a little over a year and my understanding is that the life of their funds tends to be around 5 to 7 years before they sell all the properties in the fund generating a taxable event for investors. I'm trying to find out if the 1031 exchange would be an option for individual investors in a private real estate fund to be able to use the proceeds from the sale of the properties in the fund to buy back into whatever fund is still open at MLG in 5 to 7 years to defer that taxable event.