Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Renting office space from myself

Hi Everyone,
    Please forgive me if I'm not using the right terminology, but I am a newbie here. Does anyone have experience with your S-Corp renting office space from yourself? For example, I have an S-Corp for my private practice. I have additional funds to purchase a local nearby property. Can I then have my S-Corp rent this space from myself? My practice is mainly telemedicine and also my business does consulting/writing as well. I figure I could pay myself rather than pay someone else for office space. Any concerns or pitfalls I should be aware of? Thank you in advance!

I’m sure there is a clever way to stage this, but I can’t see the benefit as opposed to just having the S Corp buy the property. That way the S Corp gets all the deductions, while if the S Corp rents from you the deductions will be limited by the passive loss rules.

Comment

Thanks, Larry! Although I am the sole owner now, I guess I'm worried that things might get messy with real estate ownership in the S-Corp if that ever changes in the future. But thanks for your reply! I definitely didn't think about it that way.

Comment

It's a very common arrangement to hold real estate outside of your S-corporation and rent it back to your business. It's usually done for legal reasons, to keep the real estate separate from your operating business where there could be liability.

What
        Larry Ragman
        Larry Ragman said isn't quite right. The rules around this can be pretty tricky.

Any rental income or loss is considered passive, which means that you can't deduct passive losses unless you have other passive income. And passive income is subject to the 3.8% net investment income tax.

And absent any elections, rental income generated from renting to your practice is considered a "self-rental", which means that the income isn't passive income but the losses are still passive.