No announcement yet.

Refinance to create positive cash flow?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Refinance to create positive cash flow?

I am new to the WCI community, wish I would have found it 9 years earlier. I still own my house from residency and the rent currently equals the mortgage payment, I have 7 years of payments left on a 15 year mortgage at 3.62%. The current cash flow is about negative $2000 a year when taking into account maintenance, insurance,etc. and because we have long term tenants I don't have plans to significantly raise the rent as they have been great tenants and it is close to market rate. I have been considering refinancing for another 15 year mortgage at a slightly lower rate in order to create positive cash flow on the property. I could use the additional income to pay toward my remaining student loans (though these are at a lower interest rate) and also give me an alternative income stream given that my salary is going to be down up to 50% for the rest of the year. (I should be able to survive the salary decrease given 'living like a resident' now and having an emergency fund though it obviously significantly affects long term financial goals.) I am torn between the desire to get debt free as soon as possible and extending the mortgage would delay this, but also want to be smart about my money working for me and would like to be able to purchase another rental property in the next year or so. Thanks for any insight or advice.

3.6% isn’t bad on a rental property. You might do a little better, but it will take several years to break even after paying the transaction costs (state dependent) and worse you are adding 8 years to the mortgage. While refinancing is not obviously wrong, without seeing the numbers I doubt you will be making yourself money by doing so. Just me, but if you can make it on your salary and the rents are break even, let it ride.