Origin Income Plus Fund

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Origin Income Plus Fund

I have posted here before about real estate funds. For those who have no interest in actively managing a property, a real estate fund may be able to provide some passive exposure to real estate, with less correlation to public markets and greater diversification than purchasing individual properties. Of course, there are downsides including lack of control, manager risk, platform risk, fees, and lack of liquidity. I have no direct experience investing in these funds, but I am collecting as much information as possible before deciding to invest.

The last fund I inquired about was MLG Capital Fund IV. One of the significant downsides of this fund was that it required filing of multiple out-of-state tax returns. This would cut into returns significantly, depending upon the amount of capital invested.

Recently, I have started exploring Origin's Income Plus Fund. This fund invests in multifamily properties and debt investments. It apparently does NOT require filing out-of-state tax returns. I do not quite understand the tax implications of the fund, but apparently various techniques are utilized to minimize the effect of taxes. The fund is also an "evergreen" fund, meaning that it can be held indefinitely (compared to the 5-7 year duration of most other funds).

Does anyone have any experience with or thoughts about this fund? Thank you for your time.

I've been on the waiting list for almost a year now on this fund. I've already submitted my paperwork and verified accredited investor status...but I just keep waiting for the capital call.

The prior Origin funds (esp funds 1 and 2) performed very well, so I too was interested in this fund and like you I really liked the simplicity of no multiple state K-1s.