Family Physician Compensation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Family Physician Compensation

I am asking for advise on an employment offer.  Background information is that I am a solo physician in a rural area (county is about 18000.) But I am within 60 miles of a large metro area.  I have been self employed for 14 years and make MUCH less than most docs.  I have no nurse or MA.  I do everything in the back from vitals to lab draws, to spinning labs, to seeing the patients, etc, etc, etc.  I also do the payroll (when there is one.)  Basically I do everything.  A family member has been graciously working for me in the front office for minimum wage.  I see on average eight patients per day on a typical day.  In flu season I see up to 15 or so.  A typical day includes lots of Medicare wellness and BP and diabetes check ups.  I know that I can see more patients daily if I have trained staff to do the scut work, call patients, etc.

I can't do this anymore.  I have had an offer from a small local hospital as follows:  156,000 yearly based on 5200 RVU, and 30 dollar per RVU.  If I do not see the 5200 RVU, I have to reimburse my employer.  If I see more than 5200 RVU, I get 30 dollar per additional RVU generated.  If I oversee mid level I get 12,000 per year.  This is based on 5 full days a week with NO admin time.  I will have to practice out of two different offices.  They also want me to be lab director at one of the offices I will work out of that is an Urgent care office.  They are not offering any additional money for this.  25 days PTO. 5 days CME with 3500 allowance.

My thinking is that the 5200 RVU requirement is too high and the per RVU compensation is too low.  I would also like to see compensation for lab director status and 1/2 day admin.  It is a one year contract.  I would appreciate feedback.

Your income is low because your volume is low.