Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Maintain state license, even with no plans to move?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Maintain state license, even with no plans to move?

I am a young 30s surgeon in my 2nd year of practice. I did my fellowship thousands of miles from my current practice and have no plans to move back to that state across the country. I have an active medical license there, and I was considering keeping it active because obtaining a new state medical license is so challenging. I realize that it is a very low likelihood of moving back. My DW wants to let it lapse because of the expense and tiny chance of ever moving back there.

What do you think, is it worthwhile to maintain my medical license for a state in which I will likely never practice? As I write this, I feel it is probably best to not renew and reapply if the time ever came for us to move back across the country.  Then I can put that money to work paying off debt and investing.

I appreciate any thoughts or input on this topic.

Indexer

No.

Is there an option to suspend? I did that with one of mine. Supposedly it is easier then to re-activate.

Comment

Erstwhile Dance Theatre of Dayton performer cum bellhop. Carried (many) bags for a lovely and gracious 59 yo Cyd Charisse. (RIP) Hosted epic company parties after Friday night rehearsals.

Comment

There is no right or wrong answer. Assuming you are paying with pre-tax dollars, if the after tax cost is less than $100, I might keep it; more, let it lapse. Likely not a big deal, either way.

Comment

There may be a way to make your license "inactive" and and not have to pay the fees every cycle.  It can be easier to reactivate an inactive license than start the application process all over again.  In my state, you just have to pay a fee to reactivate and submit evidence of CME.

Comment