wRVU as an independent contractor at the hospital

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• wRVU as an independent contractor at the hospital

I am an independent contractor at the hospital, currently getting paid by collections.

Now, I am negotiating a wRVU structure with the hospital while remaining as an independent contractor through my own LLC.

Looking at MGMA 2021 data, the median wRVU pays $53, and the hospital proposed 80% of $53= $42 instead because I am not employed through the hospital and the hospital is providing the office space/equipments/staff and etc.

Does $42 make sense?

Does wRVU include overhead cost, physician's benefits in addition to productivity?

I am paying for my own health insurance/malpractice insurance/retirement plan and etc. What is a reasonable wRVU to counter in this case?

Thank you for much!

Originally posted by jerryyang18 View Post
    I am an independent contractor at the hospital, currently getting paid by collections.

Now, I am negotiating a wRVU structure with the hospital while remaining as an independent contractor through my own LLC.

Looking at MGMA 2021 data, the median wRVU pays $53, and the hospital proposed 80% of $53= $42 instead because I am not employed through the hospital and the hospital is providing the office space/equipments/staff and etc.

Does $42 make sense?

Does wRVU include overhead cost, physician's benefits in addition to productivity?

I am paying for my own health insurance/malpractice insurance/retirement plan and etc. What is a reasonable wRVU to counter in this case?

Thank you for much!
    No it doesn’t make sense to pay you less than a fair conversion rate. It’s a work rvu because it specifically is only for the work you do. You’ll see in any Cpt book or source you can find that the total rvu is much higher. That pays for the other stuff. The hospital is trying to take advantage of you.

Comment