Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Why did my federal withholding spike (employee)?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why did my federal withholding spike (employee)?

I'm an employed physician and recently had a large bonus payment go through and some quick napkin math caught my eye. My last normal paycheck had a total tax withholding of ~26% and specifically $1800 for federal withholding. My most recent paycheck is about 2.5x my normal gross and has a total tax withholding of ~37% including a jump to $7400 for federal withholding. Why the sudden spike? Are tax brackets calculated on a per paycheck basis and I have to wait for next year's tax filing to get a refund?

When an employer pays a bonus, they can instruct the payroll service to tax that bonus in 3 different ways.

Option 1: Employer says nothing and tax is withheld as if it is a regular pay period (pay amount gets annualized, leading to a very high withholding percentage).

Option 2: Employer specifies that it is a bonus and tax is withheld as if the pay for the year is based on your regular pay periods.

Option 3: The employer requests that a specific percentage of the bonus is taken out as withholding.

Given the high withholding that you saw, it is likely that your employer chose option 1 In the final analysis, the withholding amount does not determine the taxes owed, that gets rectified when you file your annual return. But how you feel when you get your bonus is greatly affected by the taxes withheld. You may want to mention this to your employer for the next time.

Comment

You'll get any tax overpayments back when you finalize your 2022 taxes. If you really wanted, you could adjust the withholdings the rest of the year to withhold a bit less to make up for it (assuming you're withholding an appropriate amount currently).

Comment

Originally posted by White.Beard.Doc View Post