Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• EM + clinical psychology side hustle?

Hello!

I know a clinical psychologist who is looking for some extra help with her practice. She currently has a physician who helps her with prescriptions, but both of their practices are getting so busy, that she wants to bring someone else in. Now, I'm an emergency medicine doctor, so I'm not 100% sure I can do this. I have a meeting with her tomorrow to discuss details, but wanted to see if this was an obvious, hard no you are not allowed to do that, before we went too far.

I imagine I would have to establish some kind of patient relationship, likely with virtual visits. Some other thoughts I had were that maybe I only prescribe on an emergency basis, or to people who have stable prescriptions and just need a refill.

Interested to hear any thoughts.

There's a reason you're an EM doc and not a psychiatrist. I don't see a reason why you technically couldn't but it's got bad idea written all over it.

Comment

absolutely do not do this
      a bad outcome in this situation would be indefensible

Comment

Maybe if you were FP. Otherwise out of scope of practice. I assume you don't routinely hand out 30 days of psych meds in the ER
        if you don't believe me ask your malpractice insurer

Comment

Seriously? That's like me as a psychiatrist doing a side hustle as an ER doc. Totally out of scope of practice. If you think you can rely on the psychologist to diagnose and you can just prescribe, you are sadly mistaken. Psychologists misdiagnose more often than I'd like to think about and you'd be on the hook. It's concerning to me that you even think this might be fine.

Comment