Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Calculating wRVU rate in PP-Is this fair?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Calculating wRVU rate in PP-Is this fair?

I work as an employee in an ortho private practice. We have a 50% overhead/50% take home of collections compensation model. This stands no matter what your production threshold is. Essentially all compensation comes from personal professional collections. There is no significant profit sharing or ancillary income. The practice (and me) have a good payor mix; majority of commercial followed by medicare with little medicaid.

When calculating my $/wRVU rate using my total collections x.50/wRVUs it comes out to $35/wRVU. I also calculated it for my other employed co-partners and their wRVUs are in the same range, mid to high 30’s. From MGMA data I’ve seen in recent years, the median for ortho is around $75/wRVU, and MGMA encompasses all types of practices, including private. This number corresponds with rates hospital employed docs will get that I’ve heard of.

Am I (and my employed partners) getting significantly underpaid? Does the true lucrative potential of private practice only exist if you have access to ancillary income, profits, etc? From what I’ve read on here, 50% overhead seems to be a typical amount and considered fair. However half of the median $/wRVU rate does not seem to be very fair to me. Wondering what everyone else’s opinion on this setup/situation is.

Originally posted by legoman View Post
    I work as an employee in an ortho private practice. We have a 50% overhead/50% take home of collections compensation model. This stands no matter what your production threshold is. Essentially all compensation comes from personal professional collections. There is no significant profit sharing or ancillary income. The practice (and me) have a good payor mix; majority of commercial followed by medicare with little medicaid.