X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Weighing Job offers between K-1 vs. W2

Hello Sages of WCI,

I am a graduating resident who needs some help weighing between two offers:

Job #1) W-2 Employee. Guaranteed 400k first year.
    • 45% of collections up to 900k, then 47%.
    • No mid-level supervision

Job #2) K-1 Partner. Guaranteed 420k first year.
    • 45% of collections
    • Profit sharing % paid annually (likely not much until we add a few more physicians to the practice)
    • Supervise 1 mid-level
    Assuming I receive the same benefits (PTO, health, dental, malpractice) in both positions, is Job #2 a significantly better offer than #1?

I know Job #2, I will have to pay self-employment taxes, in addition to income tax, but I will likely be able to claim more business deductions as a result.

Thanks in advance. (My apologies for posting in the wrong subforum previously)

I have heard of W2 vs 1099, but I have not heard of a doc being paid via K-1 for employment. Usually I get K-1s from partnership related real estate income and business related income, but not from somewhere where I have also been employed as a doc.

Comment

Originally posted by White.Beard.Doc View Post
      I have heard of W2 vs 1099, but I have not heard of a doc being paid via K-1 for employment. Usually I get K-1s from partnership related real estate income and business related income, but not from somewhere where I have also been employed as a doc.
      I thought these offers were from separate practices - no? The K1 would be for partnership track or go directly into partnership.

No way to answer your question w/o a lot more discussion. Partnership might pay double but be h3ll on earth with a bad businessperson and leader for a partner and that might not be worth it to you. I believe money is A consideration but not the ONLY consideration and maybe not the PRIMARY consideration, iow.