Cardiology compensation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cardiology compensation

I'm a physician and my wife is cards. She recently accepted a hospital employed job for 350k base for 3 years with production bonus over certain RVU target then all production based after 3 years. Assuming she is a reasonably quick, efficient and hard worker, what should she expect in terms of comp? I know I'm not giving you much to work with in terms of RVU and bonus schedules... I guess I'm just wondering what most people on here (gen cards) start at and what they have made after establishing their clinic etc.

<bad joke was here>
    Last edited by Craigslist; 01-30-2022, 08:33 PM.

Comment

That is very difficult to answer.

Quick look (not sure of accuracy as I only know for my specialty): Average wRVU for non invasive Cards: ~8,000. Average $/wRVU ~ 62$

The better way to answer your question is find out what $/wRVU factor is at her hospital. Then find out what current cardiologists monthly wRVUs are to get a rough idea of what compensation is doable in the current employed system. Then have your spouse compare her work life balance/efficiency to current cardiologists for a reasonable rate.

No way cardiologists at my hospital are doing 8,000wrvu/year...

Comment

Since she’s female I’m assuming this is a general cards position.

Total package (benefits/retirement) should be in 650-750k range. Above and you’re doing well. Below and you’re getting scammed in todays market.

not sure why anyone in their right mind would be taking 350k even for year 1 (unless it’s a no-call, academic, big city or 5k rvu/year job) but as you mentioned depends on the bonus structure… so that salary should get you a great lifestyle and most likely that bonus structure isn’t worth chasing.

Comment