Employed GI doctor collections/charges and salary

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Employed GI doctor collections/charges and salary

I'm an employed GI doctor on a pretty standard base + bonus compensation model. My salary is $500K annually. This is almost identical to my annual collections. My annual charges however are approximately $2.5 million.

Assuming I was in an "eat what you kill" private practice, I assume I would take home a certain % of my collections minus overhead, say 50% (this is arbitrary). This means that my salary would be $250K. I understand that for GI other revenue sources such as ASC partnership, pathology, real estate etc. would, after partnership and a buy-in, increase my salary.

However, if a private practice takes a cut of my collections to pay the bills for running my clinic, hiring MAs, paying for the EMR etc., how is my employer able to make money off me if I am essentially getting paid my collections? The annual charges are not the money that my employer actually receives for my billing, correct? Or is it all in the facility fees for endoscopy and downstream path/radiology/surgery etc. referrals that I end up making during my clinical practice?

I hope this question makes sense as I'm trying to get a sense of how the financials work in favor of my employer, as I'm sure it does, and what a private practice alternative would look like.

your overhead includes the MA's, share of office staff, etc, doesnt it? So if you got 100% of your collections minus your overhead, the employer will be net zero cost for hiring you (not accounting for any downstream services and facility fees). So just by taking a percentage of your collections, they are making money off you. Which every employer needs to to stay in business.

Comment

It seems unlikely that your collections are only 500k. what are your RVUs? I guess it all depends on how busy you are and how many procedures you are doing.