Offered a contract 2 years ahead of start date

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Offered a contract 2 years ahead of start date

Hello, I am a CA3 resident in anesthesiology. I was offered a fellowship job last spring for the 2022-2023 year and then right after that they wanted me to start interviewing for an attending position starting in August 2023. Super exciting! However, the hospital will not know the exact base pay numbers for at least a year but stated it would be between 420-470k in addition to incentives. The department chair of the department stated that "he does not like waiting for answer" aka he wants me to accept soon after I submit my letters of Rec. I really am in love with this hospital and feel comfortable with everyone in it. They treat me like a superstar and feel valued. Would anyone else be a bit skeptical of accepting a job this far out without seeing base pay numbers?

Well I’m no lawyer but anything you sign without salary, expectations and all the other legal mumbo jumbo isn’t a contract. You can sign a letter of intent but those don’t hold as much weight as a contract I don’t think.

Otherwise as long as you like everything and are happy with the compensation sure sign up.

Questions you have to ask yourself are, why are they offering you a job so far in advance? Sometimes there’s legitimate reasons. Otherwise if you work at the same place you trained, some may look at you as a trainee instead of a colleague for a while.

Comment

I would want some concrete answers. If I'm reading this correctly you state you love the hospital and they treat you like a superstar but you have even started there or is it the same hospital you're currently in residency at? Wanting to sign someone that far out reeks of desperation and underlying issues. There's no reason he needs an answer right now unless it's really hard to recruit there.

Comment

Originally posted by CordMcNally View Post