Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• taxes on offered PE equity

Hello all,

I am at a bit of a crossroads in my career. I have been working as an associate in a 2 person practice for the past 10 years. The plan was to buy in already but for various reasons that did not happen. The owner has decided that he wants to sell to PE and is 5 years from retirement. I am 20 years from retirement. The PE firm wants to keep me as part of the deal because I am over 40% of collections of the practice. As such, they are offering me cash as well as equity in the holding company. I will be making significantly less going forward with the PE group than I do now.

I am trying to think of ways where I would not have to pay full income tax on the total of the cash + equity right now, considering I wouldn't get to monetize the equity until the next liquidity event in several years. My CPA has suggested a contemporaneous buy in, whereas I buy in to my current practice and then when it is sold (at the same time) my equity in my current practice rolls into the equity in the PE firm. That way it would be tax deferred.

I have heard Jim mention several times in podcasts that in EM there is often not a set purchase price to buy in to be a partner, but rather, sweat equity. I've been working for 10 years and it seems that could qualify as "sweat equity," so that I wouldn't have to actually pay the current owner out of pocket to buy-in. Does anyone have any experience with these "sweat equity" buy ins?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.