Asking for salary raise

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Asking for salary raise

I’m a family medicine/sports medicine doctor in practice for one year. A private practice orthopedist who was one of my rotation mentors during fellowship invited me to his group which was a large orthopedic surgeon-only practice. The group offered me a starting family med physician salary which is on average 30-40k lower than a starting non-surgical sports medicine salary in my area. I was contemplating on negotiating but the mentor said it was a take it or leave it situation. At the time due to COVID there were no other sports medicine jobs anyways so I took it (plus there is no term and no non compete so I didn’t feel locked).

Fast forward to present. I enjoy my job a lot. The practice is like a constellation of independent practices so there is a lot of autonomy. The group encourages more of an “eat what you kill” model however rather than salary. The overhead cost is quite high. My practice and revenue is growing, but not as fast enough for me to adopt an eat what you kill model yet. CEO said I was young and impatient (but added that’s a good thing).

I have student loans that I’ll need to refi soon and it may be a bit difficult for me financially then (non-working spouse & child). I’m wondering if it be reasonable now to approach the practice for raise (at least closer to a starting sports medicine salary)? I feel like I was more of an experiment back then since I’m their first non-surgical doctor but now I think I’ve shown I’m eager to work and proven some value to the practice (or so I hope), despite not making enough to switch to eat what you kill model yet. Or would this leave a bad taste to the practice?
    Last edited by kev777zero; 07-25-2021, 11:34 PM.

“I’m a family medicine/sports medicine doctor in practice for one year.”
    ”not as fast enough for me to adopt an eat what you kill model yet.”