Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do reported base salary averages include benefits?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do reported base salary averages include benefits?

I'm an internal medicine doctor in the same practice for more than ten years, and my annual wRVUs are above average for internists.  I feel that my employer is offering a low salary (base plus bonus) based on median salaries that I see on MGMA or Merritt-Hawkins websites.  When I have brought this up to my employer in the past, they're response is that the base salaries listed on those sites include benefits such as retirement contributions, CME, malpractice insurance, etc, so they're not equivalent to an annual paid salary.  Is this is true, how much of the reported salaries can be accounted for by benefits?

I've answered these surveys and always just report my direct compensation (the salary on my contract).  I wouldn't even know what things like my malpractice insurance cost in order to report them.

One suggestion:  If you try to negotiate based on averages/numbers/stats... well, no one ever left a job in favor of an MGMA average.  On the other hand, if you make a request based on another contract offer you have in hand, it will communicate something entirely different and will get your employer's attention.

Comment

I've never answered on total 'calculated' compensation (benefits +retirement+ cme funding, etc), just pure $$$ in paycheck.   It's too hard to estimate that number.

Your employer is deflecting their low reimbursement.  Chances are that retirement maybe on the low side too in many of these cases.  If you have Kaiser in the neighborhood, that's a great way to cross shop.

Comment

MGMA clearly states that benefits are separate from the reported salary on their survey. The same is also valid for data analysis.