Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Frequency of Contract Negotiations

I am currently an employed physician.

The group where I work has renewable 1 year contracts every year.

The first 1 - 2 years are typically a salaried contract and every year after that is productivity-based.

I feel I am well paid and am well in the 90+ %ile for any salary surveys (The argument as always is that I feel I deserve that increased pay because I am so productive. Admin feels that I should be thankful for what I get because their infrastructure has allowed me to become and stay so busy so quickly)

How often should one be negotiating these annual contracts? Should I be asking for a pay raise annually even though I feel I am already fairly compensated?

Is it actually renewable/negotiable or does it just become at will? Seems crazy to have to sit down and negotiate things every year. Certainly do not put forth that you feel so adequately compensated, it will be used against you!

Comment

Is it actually renewable/negotiable or does it just become at will? Seems crazy to have to sit down and negotiate things every year. Certainly do not put forth that you feel so adequately compensated, it will be used against you!

I'm not quite sure. In speaking with my colleagues, it sounds like there are those who just auto-renew their contract annually. There are others who will sit down and claw for something new every year (which does seem incredibly tedious)

I will certainly keep my thoughts about compensation private but I was curious how others handle their contract negotiations?

My plan was to just simply renew unless a large change in collections (either + or -) prompts me to re-evaluate the contract. It seems like it would be healthier for both sides to not haggle over numbers every year?

Comment