No announcement yet.

Would you do extra easy call for money?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Would you do extra easy call for money?

I am an employed subspecialty surgeon at a small community hospital. I am the only surgeon in my speciality. I am obligated by contract to do 10 ER calls a month at a rate of $600/day. The hospital CMO encourages me to take additional calls at the same rate. His reasoning was that I would likely get called anyways even I am not listed as on call, so I might as well get paid for it. My calls has been very light. In fact, I didn't get any calls from ER last week. The chance of actually having to get up at the middle of night and come to see a patient in the hospital is quite small.

I am a little conflicted about taking on additional calls. I guess I can take on additional weekday calls. I am a non-drinker so taking calls does not really impact too much on my lifestyle.

What would you do?

If you can pick the days you’re on call and don’t mind it, why not. Also can’t hurt to ask for more money. Going rate can go up to $1-1.5k.

I took some extra weekend call at a sister hospital 50 minutes away. Super small. I got a total of 4 consults over 3 separate weekends. Did an egd and a central line. Got paid $1k a day for it and reimbursed “gas mileage”.

Comment

If you were called anyway on a day youre not the call person, what would happen? Lets say you were drinking so certainly cant come in- Do they wait until the next day (not sure how urgent your subspecialty is) or will a gen surg on call person take the pt?

How are your days after call? Filled with clinic patients so if you did happen to get called at 3 am the night before it would make your life/next day horrible? Or not so it wouldnt make a dent in your happiness or productivity? It ultimately comes down to a personal decision, but generally if the hospital is approaching you it's for their best business interest, not yours.

Comment