Good Hospitalist Contract and Terms.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Good Hospitalist Contract and Terms.

I need some advice. I’m two years out of residency. My three-year contract as a hospitalist will be ending August 2021. I work as a hospital employee in the largest hospital system in the state.

When should I start asking for an extension/renegotiation of my contract? What things should I ask for? What should I watch out for?

Compared to what I’ve seen offered from other hospitals for hospitalist contracts, I feel like my current contract isn’t half bad. 250k to 260k max base salary. I've had colleagues, also right out of residency, get contracts with base salary start 310k. They cover ICU and do small procedure like CL placement. The hospital I work at has an open ICU but we don't manage vents. I can do CLs and intubate, ALCS, etc.

I get 6-11 dollars/per RVU (low I know) with average 4-5k RVU per year, up to 35k quality incentive bonus (average 80-90% captured per year). Anywhere from 16-20 patients a day. 1-2 admissions a day. +\- APP support.

I get along great with my bosses and enjoy my colleagues, so that’s a plus. I will of course be getting a lawyer to review my contract. The biggest problem I see in my current contract is a clause that they can change my salary pretty much at will. Apparently, this is getting pretty common with hospitalist contracts. Idk if anyone has been successful in negotiating this out of their contract. Any other advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks to everyone in advance!

What is your expected wRVU ? - Average equals 4107
    What is you reimbursement per w RVU?

If you want to work about average and make $240,000 per year, then you need to get $58 per rvu
    I would not worry about base salary , because it usually figured into your rvu equation

Comment

Originally posted by Random1 View Post
      What is your expected wRVU ? - Average equals 4107
      What is you reimbursement per w RVU?