Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

IC Emergency Physician - Can I Employ Wife for Business-related Work?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• IC Emergency Physician - Can I Employ Wife for Business-related Work?

I'm an independent contractor emergency physician who also serves as a medical director for several EMS/fire departments. The medical direction/consulting work requires that I send invoices, sign controlled substance forms/scan them in, mail them, etc.

My wife currently is a stay-at-home mother. Can I employ her to do day-to-day activities and allow her to contribute to my Solo 401(k)? Will I need to officially employ her (i.e., W-9, pay payroll taxes, etc.) or can she take part of the "profit" of my business.

I am not currently incorporated.

Of course you can...but does it make economic sense? This question is on my fairly long list of blog posts I intend to write when (if) I ever get caught up ​​​​​​ and start writing newsletters again.

Yes, you will need to employ her. But that’s not the most significant concern (although it is something to consider). Here’s the more important consideration, impo:
    When you pay your otherwise non-working spouse, you are trading income taxed at your Medicare rate of 2.9% (because I’m assuming you are earning more than the SS limit of $137,700 for 2020) for a FICA tax of 15.3% simply in order to contribute to a solo-k on her behalf. Put bluntly, if I came to you with a proposal to manage her solo-k for a front load of 12.4%, what would you say? (I hope I know the answer.)
    • Yes, you’ll get a deduction, but you will also eventually pay tax on those contributions + all growth at your top marginal tax rate. And be subject to RMD’s.
    • My preference would be a taxable account for your spouse in this situation. If she already had a day job earning at least $137,700, my opinion would definitely be impacted.