Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Resources for buy in evaluation

Hello everyone,

I am in my second year at a small Ophthalmology practice, 1 other MD (sole owner) and an optometrist (employee).  We previous set forth the buy in process before I joined.  The practice evaluation is basically accounts receivable (can be purchased post tax)  and fixed assets (pre tax), and will not include good will.  I was wondering if anyone has any experience or resources on evaluating "how much a practice is worth"?  Right now the amount of collections I generate do not make buying in particularly attractive at this time, but hopefully in 1 year (as my practice grows) it would make more sense.  I wanted to do some research ahead of time to understand how a small office should be evaluated for buy in purposes.  Thanks for any help

Hello everyone,

I am in my second year at a small Ophthalmology practice, 1 other MD (sole owner) and an optometrist (employee).  We previous set forth the buy in process before I joined.  The practice evaluation is basically accounts receivable (can be purchased post tax)  and fixed assets (pre tax), and will not include good will.  I was wondering if anyone has any experience or resources on evaluating “how much a practice is worth”?  Right now the amount of collections I generate do not make buying in particularly attractive at this time, but hopefully in 1 year (as my practice grows) it would make more sense.  I wanted to do some research ahead of time to understand how a small office should be evaluated for buy in purposes.  Thanks for any help

You might want to have a valuation appraisal conducted by an accredited appraiser who specializes in medical practices, but it will be expensive. This article might help.
    Working to protect good doctors from bad advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment

Thank you,

I am hoping to avoid an expensive process, but sometimes it is necessary, I guess.

Comment