Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sole Proprietor starting new practice

Hello,

Currently I am an independent contractor working in the ED getting paid with a 1099 and identified as a sole proprietor by the IRS.  All income comes into a business account(sole proprietor) and I pay myself.

I will be adding a cash based practice and was wondering if

1. I would need to establish a separate bank account for the income and pay myself from the business.  (to keep things separate) or can it go into the existing business account

2. If I choose a different entity for this practice.. scorp.. llc.. would that alone require everything to be separate?

Thank you everyone for all the help!

If it is the same line of work (income from professional medical services provided by you) i’d keep it all together.

Comment

1099 sole proprietor ED doc here. Since we don’t have any employees and are separate entities when in comes to our places of practice, ie: you are practicing in a hospital owned ED and not your own practice, there really is no reason to jump through the hoops and get an LLC or S-Corp. The tax savings is essentially moot and not worth the cost to setup and maintain a business designation or corporation. I don’t have any separate business accounts and just have a separate tax withholdings savings account that I pay my quarterly taxes out of. I know there are different ways to go about this, but bring a sole proprietor in the ED without any employees makes it pretty simple.

if you’re setting up a stand alone cash based practice on the side that is it’s own business I would do an llc or s-Corp as this is a different beast than your daily ED practice and if you are ever audited it makes the paper trail cleaner.

Comment

I agree on the keeping it all together.  There's no tax or accounting reason to make it separate.